New Members Join A&T Advisory Panel


Greensboro, N.C. (June 30, 2017) – The Strategic Planning Council that advises The Cooperative Extension Program at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University welcomed new members during its June 13-15 meeting on campus.

Strategic Planning Council members represent the needs of their communities to Extension administrators and programmers, who provide research-based educational programs and information on critical issues to people throughout the state. The new members are:

  • Evelyn Johnson of Tarboro, member of the Edgecombe County Board of Education and the Edgecombe County Department of Social Services Board. Johnson, a retired educator with 37 years of experience as a teacher, principal, consultant and motivational speaker, is also a board member of the Harrison Family YMCA.
  • Sherry Lucas of Wilson, member of Wilson County Board of commissioners and an Upper Coastal Plain Council of Governments board member. Lucas is a Wilson Downtown Development Council board member, a White Oak 4-H Club leader, an Integrity Unlimited CDC board member and program coordinator, White Oak Pentecostal Holiness Church pastor, and a retired educator in Wilson County Schools.
  • Morris Pridgen Jr. of Whiteville, director of the Columbus County Public Library. Pridgen is a board member of the Columbus County Partnership for Children, Columbus County Dream Center and Columbus County Literacy Council.
  • Lovay Wallace-Singleton of New Bern, executive director of Veterans Employment Base Camp and Organic Garden, a non-profit organization designed to help unemployed, disabled veterans rejoin the workforce. She served in the Navy for 20 years and is a N.C. Coastal Land Trust board member.
  • Josie Williams of Greensboro, project coordinator for the Greensboro Housing Coalition and Collaborative Cottage Grove, a coalition of several local organizations working together on a community-centered health initiative within the Cottage Grove neighborhood in East Greensboro. 
  • Ronnie Smith of Robersonville, a member of the Martin County Board of Commissioners. Elected to the board of commissioners in 2002, Smith served as chairman of the board 2008-2010 and 2014-2016. He is a retired Air Force officer.