College of Science and Technology


Below you will find information about the Physics degrees offered by our department.

We offer three bachelor's degrees with several different concentrations, a master’s degree, and a Ph.D. degree. For students interested in specific sub-disciplines of Physics, we offer four specialized concentrations in our B.S. program as well as a Physics minor for students majoring in other courses. In addition, our program offers many student research opportunities

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us at the Physics Department office.


The Department of Physics offers a Bachelor of Science in Physics with four program concentrations. See the current Undergraduate Bulletin for course descriptions.

  • Bachelor of Science in Physics is designed to prepare students for graduate study in physics. The degree provides the background for graduate and professional studies in medicine, law, and other scientific fields. Curriculum Guide
  • Bachelor of Science in Physics (Biological Physics) is a curriculum that brings quantitative training to students interested in life sciences. With courses from Physics, Biomedical Engineering, and Biology, graduates of this program are well prepared with more analytical skills for careers in biomedical sciences, health sciences, neuroscience, and other related areas. Curriculum Guide
  • Bachelor of Science in Physics (Engineering Physics) is a curriculum based on a core of courses in physics and specialized courses in engineering. Graduates of this program are well prepared for careers in industry, government, the military, business, and other technical areas. Curriculum Guide
  • Bachelor of Science in Physics (Interdisciplinary Physics) allows a student the flexibility to take physics courses and concentrate in another physical area. Curriculum Guide
  • Bachelor of Science in Physics (Secondary Education) leads to teacher certification in Physics and Mathematics at the high school level. The physics Secondary Education program is accredited by the National Council of Accreditation of Teacher Education and approved by the North Carolina State Department of Public Instruction. Curriculum Guide

Prof. Ashot Gasparian (Interim Chair) at or the Physics Department office for more information.


Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology

The Department of Physics at North Carolina A&T offers a Bachelor of Science degree in Atmospheric Science and Meteorology (ASME) that prepares students for further graduate studies or careers involving National Weather Service, academia, government agencies (e.g., NASA, DoD, EPA), and the weather service industry.

The training involves an interdisciplinary approach through coursework and internships in the use of data from surface air stations, satellites, radar in models to predict weather, flooding, droughts, and air pollution and understand and mitigate climate change.

ASME students can conduct research with faculty specializing in arctic meteorology, atmospheric chemistry, aviation meteorology, mesoscale and synoptic meteorology, numerical weather prediction, remote sensing, analysis, and numerical modeling approaches. 

Please review the Curriculum Guidelines. Course descriptions are provided in the Undergraduate Bulletin.

Contact Prof. Ashot Gasparian (Interim Chair) at or Prof. Yuh-Lang Lin at

Minor in Physics

The Minor in Physics shall consist of at least 20 credit hours, as follows:

  • Required courses: PHYS 241, PHYS 251, PHYS 242, PHYS 252 and PHYS 306.
  • Elective courses: An additional 9 credit hours from PHYS 101 and any physics courses numbered 300 or above.
  • Students must choose the elective physics courses with the approval of the department chair.
  • Students completing the Minor in Physics must earn a grade of “C” or better in all courses for the minor.
  • Students must complete a minimum of 24 academic credits before declaring a minor.

All other requirements under the Minor Field of Undergraduate Study Policy apply. See Undergraduate Bulletin for course details.

Contact Prof. Ashot Gasparian (Interim Chair) at or the Physics Department office for more information. 

Masters in Physics

The School of Graduate Studies through the Department of Physics offers a program leading to the Masters of Science in Physics and a Masters of Science in Physics with a concentration in Atmospheric Sciences. The M.S. in Physics will provide you the comprehensive preparation needed for the pursuit of a Ph.D. in physics or related areas. The Department of Physics also participates in the Applied Science and Technology Ph.D. program.

The M.S. in Physics degree program offers three options:

  • Thesis option: requires a minimum of 30 semester hours which includes 6 semester hours of thesis.
  • Course work option: requires a minimum of 33 semester hours plus a comprehensive examination.
  • Project option: requires a minimum of 30 semester hours plus 3 semester hours of a special project.

Graduate student support is provided by both the university and the department in the form of fellowships, teaching assistantships, and research assistantships. The financial support offered most incoming students is in the form of a teaching assistantship and requires up to 20 hours per week of instructional-related service.

See the Graduate Catalog for details.

Contact Prof. Ashot Gasparian (Interim Chair) at or the Physics Department office for more information.

PH. D. in Applied Science and Technology

Students interested in a Ph.D. can apply to the Applied Science and Technology Ph.D. program through the College of Science and Technology. Students from the Physics department can choose one of the two concentrations:

  • Applied Physics Concentration
  • Atmospheric, Environmental, & Energy Science (AST-AEE) Concentration

Prof. Ashot Gasparian (Interim Chair, Department of Physics) at or Prof. Jenora Waterman at (Interim Program Director, Applied Science & Technology Ph.D. Program).


Useful Links

Apply to our Undergraduate Program(s):

Apply to our Graduate Program(s):