Frequently Asked Questions

Is N.C. A&T an HBCU?

North Carolina A&T is the nation's top-rated historically Black university in Washington Monthly and Money Magazine’s national university rankings. In Forbes, it is the highest ranked public HBCU in America.

What GPA is required for admission to N.C. A&T?

N.C. A&T requires a suitable GPA, as set by the UNC System. A student who earns at least a 2.5 weighted high school grade point average OR a minimum test score on either the ACT (19) or the SAT (1010) is eligible for review by any of the 16 UNC System universities, including N.C. A&T.

How large is the N.C. A&T student body?

In the fall of 2023, North Carolina A&T had 13,883 students, making it America’s largest HBCU for the eighth consecutive year.

What are housing options are available for students?

North Carolina A&T has 15 on-campus residence halls, eight of which are residential learning communities. Single-sex and co-ed facilities are available.

What are my financial aid options?

At North Carolina A&T, we believe any student who wishes to pursue their educational goals should be able to do so. As part of that commitment, our Financial Aid and Scholarships office will work with you to receive the financial assistance you need to attend N.C. A&T. If you think you will need assistance, the first step is to complete the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) form. The N.C. A&T State University Federal School Code is 002905. Your information must then go through the process of verification.

Who are famous A&T Alumni?

U.S. Congresswoman Alma Adams, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Michael S. Regan, MacArthur Foundation "Genius Grant" winner and landscape architect Walter Hood, civil rights activist The Rev. Jesse Jackson Sr., Simmons University President Dr. Lynn Perry Wooten, White House Board of Advisors on HBCU members Willie A. Deese, Janeen Uzzell and Taraji P. Henson, 2020 Olympics Gold Medalists Randolph Ross and Trevor Stewart, Oscar winner Terrence J and NFL players Brandon Parker, Tarik Cohen, Darryl Johnson and Franklin McCain III.