John R. and Kathy R. Hairston College of Health and Human Sciences

Regionally Increasing Baccalaureate Nurses Program

The North Carolina Piedmont Regionally Increasing Baccalaureate Nurses (RIBN) Option consists of four years of seamless nursing education that leads to an associate degree and a bachelor’s degree. It is a collaborative dual enrollment program with North Carolina A&T State University (N.C. A&T) and Davidson Community College (DCC), Guilford Technical Community College (GTCC), and Vance-Granville Community College.

Once students complete three years of study successfully at a community college, they will graduate with an Associate Degree in Nursing and are eligible to apply to take the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN). During this time, students have the opportunity to take their fourth year at N.C. A&T. Classes at N.C. A&T will be offered online. Upon completion of year four, students graduate with a bachelor’s degree in nursing from N.C. A&T.

Reasons to consider RIBN

  • Affordable tuition
  • Completion of BSN in four years
  • Spend the first three years enrolled at a community college, while taking at least one class per semester at North Carolina A&T State University
  • Complete support and assistance from faculty and staff at both institutions, along with the support of a RIBN Student Success Advocate to assist all program participants
  • Receive Associate Degree in Nursing at the end of the third year, after successfully passing the NCLEX-RN to be eligible to progress into fourth year of the program
  • During the fourth year, RIBN students have the option to work part-time as a Registered Nurse while completing their BSN

Additional information

Foundation for Nursing Excellence

For more information about the TEAS®, please visit This program is approved by the North Carolina Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 2129, Raleigh, NC 27602 919-782-3211,

nursing-excellence logo

RIBN is coordinated statewide by the Foundation for Nursing Excellence with financial support from The Duke Endowment, the Jonas Center for Nursing Excellence, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the NC Area Health Education Centers Program.